Comparison updated October 7, 2026
Life story book services compared: which one fits your parent?
Six ways to turn a parent’s or grandparent’s life into a hardcover book, compared on what really changes the result: who tells the stories, who writes the text, total price, pages and time.
The short answer
Most services follow the same model: your parent gets one question a week for about a year and answers by writing or recording (Storyworth, Remento, StoryKeeper, Meminto, MyStories). The book collects those answers. It is faithful to their voice, but it needs a year of steady participation, and many projects stall.
Notre Livre works differently. Your parent, or you on their behalf, shares memories in one guided conversation with an AI interviewer, and a narrative book with chapters is written from them, AI-assisted and with nothing invented. It runs 100 to 400 pages depending on the package and the memories. Tribute books cost $69 to $119 and Memoir books $119 to $209, hardcover and US shipping included. You read a free first page before you pay.
Remento is the closest alternative for families who want the actual voice: stories are recorded, turned into chapters, and QR codes in the book play the recordings.
The six services side by side
Notre Livre · Tribute and Memoir collections
Who tells the story, and how: One guided conversation with an AI interviewer, in writing, at your own pace; your parent tells it, or you tell it for them; voice interview included in Prestige
Who writes the text: A narrative book with chapters, written from the memories with AI assistance, nothing invented; you review it all, unlimited corrections before approval
Advertised price: Tribute $69–$119, Memoir $119–$209; hardcover plus PDF and EPUB, US shipping included, sales tax at checkout
Pages and format: 100 to 400 pages depending on the package and the memories; hardcover
Time it takes: Digital edition usually within 48 hours of payment and a complete conversation; hardcover ships within 7 business days of your approval
Storyworth · Storyworth Memoirs
Who tells the story, and how: One question a week for a year by email (or text); answers written, or recorded by phone on upgraded plans
Who writes the text: The storyteller writes; phone recordings can be transcribed or turned into a written story
Advertised price: Plan cards show Basic $69, Color $99, Unlimited $199 (its FAQ lists Basic at $59); one hardcover included
Pages and format: Up to 480 pages black and white, or 300 in color
Time it takes: A year of weekly questions
Remento · Life Story Book
Who tells the story, and how: One question a week by email or text; the storyteller records answers out loud, no app
Who writes the text: Speech-to-Story turns recordings into chapters (polished or cleaned-up transcript), editable
Advertised price: $99 with one color hardcover; $30 more above 200 pages; extra copies $69
Pages and format: Up to 200 pages included, up to 380; 8 × 10 in hardcover with QR codes
Time it takes: A year of prompts; hardcovers usually arrive in about 21 business days after ordering
StoryKeeper · Life Story Book
Who tells the story, and how: Write, dictate, record audio or video, or tell stories by automated phone call; family can contribute
Who writes the text: The storyteller writes or dictates; recordings are transcribed and editable
Advertised price: $99 with 2 hardcover copies
Pages and format: Up to 500 pages, 5.8 × 8.3 in hardcover
Time it takes: No deadline; the brand says some families wait 4 to 6 months
Meminto · Meminto Stories
Who tells the story, and how: Guided questions, one a week or all at once; answers by text, voice or automated phone call
Who writes the text: The storyteller’s own answers are printed; optional AI help to rephrase, each change approved
Advertised price: Essential $99, Complete $149, Premium $397 (3 printed books); one-time payment
Pages and format: Up to 100 or 300 pages, maximum 480; A5 hardcover
Time it takes: Up to 2 years to finish
MyStories · MyStories membership
Who tells the story, and how: One question a week by email for a year; answers written or recorded
Who writes the text: The storyteller writes or records; built-in AI editor and transcription
Advertised price: $99, shown at $74.25 during a 25% promotion; hardcover and worldwide shipping included
Pages and format: Not stated on the page
Time it takes: A year of weekly questions
Comparison written by Notre Livre from each brand’s public pages, checked October 7, 2026. Prices and features change; check each page before you order. This table describes different services; it is not an independent ranking. All trademarks belong to their owners, and Notre Livre is not affiliated with any of them.
Which one fits your situation
Your parent enjoys writing
A weekly-question service keeps the book in their own words. Storyworth, StoryKeeper and Meminto work well if they will keep it up for months.
Your parent would rather talk
Remento records their voice and turns it into chapters. Notre Livre writes a full narrative book from a conversation, and a family member can hold that conversation for them.
You need the book by a date
Weekly-question plans usually run for a year. With Notre Livre, for a hardcover before Christmas, start by November 15 and approve the text by November 24 (estimates, not guaranteed dates).
Your parent has passed away
Services where the storyteller answers the questions no longer fit. A Notre Livre memorial and tribute book is written from the family’s memories.
What Notre Livre does, and what it does not
You share memories in a guided conversation: childhood, work, how they met, the hard years, the things they always said. Your first five messages need no account. When there is enough material, you read a free first page and a suggested cover, then decide whether to pay.
The text is written with AI assistance from what you shared and nothing else: no invented facts, dates or quotes, and the length follows the memories. You read every chapter and ask for as many corrections as you need before approving the print. It is not a human biographer’s work, and we never present it that way. See our Storyworth vs Notre Livre comparison for a closer look at the two approaches.
Frequently asked questions
What is the best life story book service for parents?
It depends on who will do the telling. If your parent likes to write, Storyworth, StoryKeeper or Meminto keep their own words. If they prefer to talk, Remento records their voice, and Notre Livre writes a 100 to 400 page narrative book from a guided conversation, $69 to $209 with the hardcover included.
What are the best Storyworth alternatives?
Remento (voice recordings turned into chapters), StoryKeeper (no deadline, two copies), Meminto (up to two years, one-time price), MyStories (worldwide shipping) and Notre Livre (the book is written for you from one conversation, in weeks rather than a year). See our Storyworth alternatives guide.
How much does a life story book cost?
Between about $69 and $209 for the online services in this comparison: Storyworth from $69, Remento, StoryKeeper, Meminto Essential and MyStories at $99, Notre Livre Tribute $69 to $119 and Memoir $119 to $209. A professional ghostwriter usually costs thousands of dollars.
Is a Notre Livre book written by AI?
Yes, it is written with AI assistance, from your memories only. Nothing is invented: no facts, dates or quotes. You read every chapter and ask for unlimited corrections before final approval.
Can I make a life story book about a parent who has died?
Yes, with Notre Livre: the Tribute collection is written from what the family remembers. Weekly-question services assume the storyteller answers the questions.
How was this comparison made?
From each service’s public pages, checked October 7, 2026. Where a page does not state something, the table says so. Notre Livre wrote this comparison: it explains the differences and does not replace your own check.
Read next
- Life story book
- Memorial and tribute book
- Grandparents book
- Book about my dad
- Storyworth alternatives
- Pricing
You only pay after reading your first page.