Skip to main content

Comparison updated 7 October 2026

Life story books in the UK: which service fits your mum or dad?

Six ways to turn a parent’s or grandparent’s life into a hardback book with UK delivery, compared on what really changes the result: who tells the stories, who writes the text, total price, pages and time.

The short answer

Most services ask your parent to answer questions themselves, usually one or two a week for months, by email, typing or recording (StoryKeeper, YourStory, Storyworth, Meminto, Remento). The book gathers those answers. It keeps their own words, but it needs steady participation.

Notre Livre works differently. Your parent, or you on their behalf, shares memories in one guided conversation with an AI interviewer, and a narrative book with chapters is written from them, AI-assisted and with nothing invented. It runs 100 to 400 pages depending on the package and the memories. Tribute books cost £55 to £95 and Memoir books £95 to £165, hardback and UK delivery included. You read a free first page before you pay.

For the lowest price, StoryKeeper starts at £79 with free UK delivery. For a UK-printed book with founder support, YourStory costs £149 for up to 200 pages.

The six services side by side

Notre Livre · Tribute and Memoir collections

Who tells the story, and how: One guided conversation with an AI interviewer, in writing, at your own pace; your parent tells it, or you tell it for them; voice interview included in Prestige

Who writes the text: A narrative book with chapters, written from the memories with AI assistance, nothing invented; you review it all, unlimited corrections before approval

Advertised price: Tribute £55–£95, Memoir £95–£165; hardback plus PDF and EPUB, UK delivery included

Pages and format: 100 to 400 pages depending on the package and the memories; hardback

Time it takes: Digital edition usually within 48 hours of payment and a complete conversation; hardback ships within 7 working days of your approval

StoryKeeper · Classic and Plus

Who tells the story, and how: Write, dictate, record audio or video; Plus adds guided phone calls and unlimited contributors

Who writes the text: The storyteller writes or dictates; phone recordings are transcribed and editable

Advertised price: Classic £79 (1 copy), Plus £99 (2 copies); free UK delivery

Pages and format: Up to 500 pages, A5 hardback

Time it takes: No deadline; the brand says some families wait 4 to 6 months

YourStory · Life story book

Who tells the story, and how: Questions by email at the pace you choose (most pick 1 or 2 a week); the storyteller replies with their story

Who writes the text: The storyteller writes their own answers

Advertised price: £149 including one colour hardback and postage; extra copies £50; 30-day money-back guarantee

Pages and format: Up to 200 pages, 189 × 246 mm, printed in the UK

Time it takes: Depends on the chosen pace

Storyworth · Storyworth (UK)

Who tells the story, and how: Weekly questions by email or text; answers written, or recorded by phone on upgraded plans

Who writes the text: The storyteller writes; built-in proofreader

Advertised price: Plans from £49, one premium hardback included

Pages and format: Not stated on the UK page

Time it takes: A year of weekly questions

Remento · Life Story Book

Who tells the story, and how: One question a week by email or text; the storyteller records answers out loud

Who writes the text: Speech-to-Story turns recordings into editable chapters

Advertised price: Priced in US dollars (99 US dollars); UK delivery available for an extra fee

Pages and format: Up to 200 pages included, up to 380; 8 × 10 in hardback with QR codes

Time it takes: A year of prompts; about 21 working days to print and deliver in the US

Meminto · Meminto Stories

Who tells the story, and how: Guided questions, one a week or all at once; answers by text, voice or automated phone call

Who writes the text: The storyteller’s own answers are printed; optional AI help to rephrase

Advertised price: Shown in US dollars on its English site; three plans, one-time payment

Pages and format: Up to 100 or 300 pages, maximum 480; A5 hardback

Time it takes: Up to 2 years to finish

Comparison written by Notre Livre from each brand’s public pages, checked 7 October 2026. Prices and features change; check each page before you order. This table describes different services; it is not an independent ranking. All trademarks belong to their owners, and Notre Livre is not affiliated with any of them.

Which one fits your situation

Your parent enjoys writing

A question-led service keeps the book in their own words. StoryKeeper is the cheapest; YourStory prints in the UK and offers founder support.

Your parent would rather talk

StoryKeeper Plus records phone calls and Remento records their voice. Notre Livre writes a full narrative book from a conversation, and a family member can hold that conversation for them.

You need the book by a date

Question-led services take months. With Notre Livre, for a hardback before Christmas, start by 22 November and approve the text by 1 December (estimates, not guaranteed dates).

Your parent has passed away

Services where the storyteller answers the questions no longer fit. A Notre Livre memorial and tribute book is written from the family’s memories.

What Notre Livre does, and what it does not

You share memories in a guided conversation: childhood, work, how they met, the hard years, the things they always said. Your first five messages need no account. When there is enough material, you read a free first page and a suggested cover, then decide whether to pay.

The text is written with AI assistance from what you shared and nothing else: no invented facts, dates or quotes, and the length follows the memories. You read every chapter and ask for as many corrections as you need before approving the print. It is not a human biographer’s work, and we never present it that way. See also our Storyworth vs Notre Livre comparison.

Frequently asked questions

What is the best life story book service in the UK?

It depends on who will do the telling. If your parent likes to write, StoryKeeper (from £79) or YourStory (£149, printed in the UK) keep their own words. If they prefer to talk, Notre Livre writes a 100 to 400 page narrative book from a guided conversation, £55 to £165 with the hardback and UK delivery included.

What are the best Storyworth alternatives in the UK?

StoryKeeper (no deadline, free UK delivery), YourStory (UK-printed), Remento (voice recordings, priced in US dollars) and Notre Livre (the book is written for you from one conversation, in weeks rather than a year). See our Storyworth alternatives guide.

How much does a life story book cost in the UK?

Between £49 and £165 for the online services in this comparison: Storyworth from £49, StoryKeeper £79 or £99, YourStory £149, Notre Livre Tribute £55 to £95 and Memoir £95 to £165. A professional biographer usually costs thousands of pounds.

Is a Notre Livre book written by AI?

Yes, it is written with AI assistance, from your memories only. Nothing is invented: no facts, dates or quotes. You read every chapter and ask for unlimited corrections before final approval.

Can I make a life story book about a parent who has died?

Yes, with Notre Livre: the Tribute collection is written from what the family remembers. Question-led services assume the storyteller answers the questions.

How was this comparison made?

From each service’s public pages, checked 7 October 2026. Where a page does not state something, the table says so. Notre Livre wrote this comparison: it explains the differences and does not replace your own check.

Read next

Start for free

You only pay after reading your first page.